This page lists preserved diesel and electric locomotives around Australia; all those locos covered on Locopage, as well as those from TasRail and the Emu Bay Railway, and some smaller industrial locos.

Operational locomotives are underlined

If you have any amendments to this list, please contact me.

Many of these museums and preservation groups also have their own web sites; links to them can be found on the Locopage Links page.


707 Operations Ltd
F204 (spares), F208, T413, W241 (loan to El Zorro), W244 (loan to El Zorro), Y127

ARHS-North Williamstown Railway Museum
B83, E1102, F211, F216, L1150, S308, T367, V56, W243, W255, Y137, SECV-37

Bellarine Peninsula Railway
V8, VA1, X3, X20

Daylesford Spa Country Railway

Mornington Railway Preservation Society
T334, T411

Puffing Billy Railway
V9, D21 (V12), DH31 (59)

Railmotor Group
Y168 (lease to El Zorro)

South Gippsland Railway
T342, Y135

Seymour Railway Heritage Centre
B74, C501, F202, S303, T320, T357, T378, Y133 (hire to Victorian Goldfields Railway), GM36

Steamrail Victoria
B63, B72, E1106, E1108, E1109, L1160, L1162, L1169, M231, M232, S313 (lease to Qube Rail), T356, T364, T395, Y164

Victorian Goldfields Railway
F212, T333, APM-Malcolm Moore

Walhalla Goldfields Railway
SECV-14, Emu Bay-1001

Yarra Valley Tourist Railway
B75, T341, W250


3801 Ltd
4401 (lease from SRA), 4833, 4918, 7344 (lease from SRA)

ARHS-Canberra Railway Museum
4807 (lease from SRA), 7315, 7319, BHP-D25

ARHS-Yass Railway Museum

Dorrigo Steam Railway & Museum Ltd
4206, 42102, 4420, 4521, 4602, 4706, 4822, 7007, 7008, 7010, 7329, 7335, 8507, 8601, 8650, X102, X204, X214, BHP-47, BHP-52, BHP-D11, BHP-JL3, Sulphide Corp-SC16, ADI-1 (Clyde 0-6-0), Coffs Harbour Wharf-1 (Motor Rail 0-4-0), Grain Handling Authority-2 and 3 (Whiting Corp 0-4-0), MSW&DB-51 (F C Hibbard 0-4-0), ?-X63 (Taylor &Hibbard 0-4-0)

Goulburn Railway Heritage Centre
42101, 4821, Blue Circle-D1

Hunter Valley Railway Trust
4472, 4627, 7350, X115, X117

Lachlan Valley Alco Locomotive Group
4464, 4473, 4486

Lachlan Valley Railway
4204, 4701 (used by Independent Railways of Australia), 4702, 4703 (used by Independent Railways of Australia), 4707, 4708 (used by Independent Railways of Australia), 4716, HTV2000, BHP-D9

Rail Transport Museum, Thirlmere
4001, 4102, 4201, 4306, 4490, 44211, 4520, 4638, 4803, 4916, 7006, 7100, 7921, 8646, BHP-D1
Rail Transport Museum, Valley Heights

Regional Heritage Transport Association (Junee)
4403 (Lease from RailCorp)

Richmond Vale Railway (Hunter Valley)
DR1, BHP-34, BHP-42, BHP-43, BHP-53, BHP-54

Sydney Electric Train Society
4615, 8501, 8606 (all at Hornsby)

Office of Rail Heritage, Railcorp
4801, 4805, X212

State Mine Railway, Lithgow
BHP-D20, BHP-D21, BHP-D23, BHP-D24

Sulphide Street Museum

Zig Zag Railway
Emu Bay-1003, Emu Bay-1004, MIM-5802


National Railway Museum
351, 515, 801, 900, 930, DE91, GM2, NSU61, BHP-E1, ETSA-1, ICI-(no number)

350, 507, 907 (in trust from Murraylander), 909 (in trust from Murraylander), 958, 963

Homestead Park Museum, Port Augusta

Pichi Richi Preservation Society
NB30, NSU51, NSU52, NSU54, NT76, BHP-DE10

NC1, NSU55, NSU62, Z1151


Old Ghan (Ghan Preservation Society)
NSU53, NSU58, NSU59, NSU64, DH14

Pine Creek Railway Museum

Adelaide River


Don River Railway
866, U1, U6, V2, V6, X4, Y6, Y8, ZC32, Emu Bay-1002

Derwent Valley Railway
U5, V7, X10, X18, X30, Y2, Emu Bay-21

Queen Victoria Museum (Launceston)

Tasmanian Transport Museum (Glenorchy)
X1, Y4, EZ-(no number)

West Coast Wilderness Railway
V13, Emu Bay-22


1150, 1179, 1200, 1263, 1604, 1614, 1650, DH38, DL3

Atherton Tableland Railway (Ravenshoe-Atherton)

Cairns-Kuranda Steam Train Group

EBR-1101, EBR-1102, EBR-1105

Mary Valley Heritage Railway (Gympie)
1632, 1639, 1649

Qld Pioneer Steam (Swanbank)

QR Heritage Division (Ipswich North Workshops)
1159, 1170, 1262, 1270, 1281, 1407, 1450, 1455, 1461, 1603, 1620, 1710, DH2, DL1


ARHS-Bassendean Railway Museum
A1501, B1601, E30, F43, G50, RA1918, X1001, XA1405, Y1101, BHP-5499, SECWA-(no number 2)

Boyanup Transport Museum
TA1807, XA1402, Y1116

Collie station museum
SECWA-(no number)

Goldfields Railway Preservation Society (Golden Mile Loopline Railway, Boulder)
B1610, Y1108, Z1153

Hotham Valley Railway Society
V4, V5, C1701, C1702, C1703, XA1401, XA1411, Z1152

Mining Machinery Museum & Park, Port Hedland
BHP-5451, BHP-5497 (cab only), BHP-B2

Pemberton-Northcliffe Tramway
Y1102, Y1107, Y1114, Y1115, ex-Pemberton Sawmill DM 0-6-0 Comeng, DM 0-4-0 Plymouth

Pilbara Railway Historical Society
BHP-5495, BHP-5502, BHP-5450, BHP-B1, Hamersley-007, Hamersley-1000, Hamersley-2003, Hamersley-3017, Robe River-9405


NOTE:  V = VR / V/Line; N = SRA/Freightcorp; A = CR/SAR/AN; T = TasRail; Q = QR; W = Westrail; B = BHP; P = Other Private operators.

Static Display
V: B67 (cab only - Stratford), B68 (cab only - Perth)
N: 4203 (shortened - Emu Plains), 4445 (cab only - Werris Creek), 4705 (Werris Creek)
A: GM28 (Port Pirie), NC2 (Port Lincoln), NSU56 (Marree), NSU57 (Marree), NSU60 (Marree)
T: U3 (Launceston)
Q: 1613 (Longreach), DL2 (Forsayth)
W: B1603 (Midland), F41 (Moora), T1804 (Northampton), TA1808 (Merredin), XA1403 (cab only - Gosnells), XA1415 (Narrogin)
B: 32 (BHP Newcastle), D6 (BHP Port Kembla), E7 (Iron Knob)
P: Robe River-9401 (Wickham), SECV-125 (Morwell)

Privately Owned Units
V: T375 (Torrumbarry/Echuca)
N: 4465 (Werris Creek), 4617 (Junee - cab only), 7320 (Canberra), 7324 (Canberra), 8607 (location unknown), 8644 (Chullora), 8649 (location unknown)
A: GM41 (Bendigo area - cab only)
Q: 1172 (Mount Morgan), 1177 (Redbank), 1225 (Redbank), 1400 (Redbank), 1707 (Swanbank)
W: B1608 (Bellevue)
B: D7 (Canberra)
P: MIM-5803 (location unknown)

Locomotive Page Introduction 

© Copyright John Cleverdon